Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen

The Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen (province of East-Flanders), with Gent as capital city, is one of ten Belgian provinces.

The Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen is the second biggest Belgian province, with 1.5 million inhabitants (surface area: 3,000 km²). Its number of 80+ inhabitants is expected to rise with 25% in 2018 (baseline year 2010), to about 90 000 people.

The department of Economics, European and International cooperation is partner in the iAge project.

Subpartner of the Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen is RESOC Gent en rondom Gent (with ERSV Oost-Vlaanderen as legal entity). RESOC Gent en rondom Gent is an organisation (financed for the largest part by the Flemish government) with as its major task facilitating the socio-economic development of the region Gent en rondom Gent. This region with about 400,000 inhabitants comprises ten municipalities: the city of Gent of course, and nine neighbouring municipalities: Destelbergen, Evergem, Lochristi, Melle, Merelbeke, Moerbeke, Oosterzele, Wachtebeke and Zelzate.

The Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen and Gent en rondom Gent were partner and subpartner in the Interreg IVB North Sea region project DC Noise which ended on 31/12/2011 and which was also aimed at tackling in a positive way the demographic issues that face the North Sea region.

In iAge the Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen and Gent en rondom Gent want to work together on two local projects:

  • Organising training workshops to familiarise health care teachers with home automation technologies.
  • The development of an ICT application for older unemployed people to help them improve their chances on the labour market. This will be organised in cooperation with the Flemish labour market agency.
Laatst bijgewerkt op 6 June 2013.